Welcome Stranger (Monique diMattina) 1 - Welcome Stranger Cover

Monique diMattina, Fulbright scholar, singer/songwriter and regular Triple R presenter launched her second album Welcome Stranger to a full house at The Toff and critical acclaim in November 2010.

Known for exquisite piano stylings (Senses 2009 enjoyed extensive ABC and BBC airplay), diMattina glides for the first time into the jazz/ pop territory of her teen idol Rickie Lee Jones in this impressive release. Musical collaborators include guitar and bass virtuosi Doug de Vries, Sam Lemann and Ben Robertson, Steve Grant (C.W.Stoneking – accordion/trumpet) and perennial bluesman Andrew Swann on drums/guitars.

No stranger to songwriting or singing, diMattina returned to Melbourne to record Welcome Stranger following several years working in New York City, with artists as diverse as Lou Reed, Bjork and the bands of Peter Gabriel, Suzanne Vega and Norah Jones.

Welcome Stranger pays homage to diMattina’s hometown, humour and pathos gloriously entwining in songs such as the blueship ‘Livingest Place’ (“the weather man tries but he really doesn’t know”) sardonic ‘Joan of Burwood’ (“all she ever does is burn the steak”) and includes one cover – compatriat Paul Kelly’s ‘Dumb Things’.

Stylistically Welcome Stranger’s catchy grooves draw from lyrical country blues and New Orleans roots. Fans of the solo piano album Senses will recognise the characteristic diMattina elegance and mystic serenity.

as Brisbane Rave Magazine states, “From French bohemian to dedicated blues to sweet lullabies, Welcome Stranger is bound to win you over one way or another.“

Tune in to Monique on Triple R 102.7 FM each Saturday morning 8.45am EST as she writes a song to order, themed on the whim of listeners calling in. Monique has just an hour to write the song and performs it on air.


”Sophisticated and playful”  Dave Graney, 3RRR

“Sweetly wry…Livingest Place is surely the nicest and slyest ‘Melbourne-v-Sydney’ song, ever.”  Doug Spencer, ABC Radio National

"She sings New Orleans stompers as confidently as she sings supple, tiny lullabies; this is an album with room for both and more. I like it. It feels as though it’s about us and from the place we live."  Chris Johnston, The Age

”diMattina’s second feel-good album is upbeat and bluesy..her seductive skills on keys and Steve Grant’s trumpet solos reach new heights. From French bohemian to dedicated blues to sweet lullabies, Welcome Stranger is bound to win you over one way or another."  Tiffany Bridger, Rave Magazine

"Sweetly seductive" Jessica Nicholas, The Age

"Calm notes with a sharp intelligence"  Sue Roberts, BBC Radio

“A touch, tone and sensibility only found in artists of the highest caliber” Dr Tony Gould


For more information about Monique diMattina and releases, click here to go to the artist page

Track Listing Show

  1. Lunar Lady
  2. Joan Of Burwood
  3. Livingest Place
  4. Too Far Gone
  5. What Does She Know?
  6. Talkin Obaginatin Domestic Altercatin Blues
  7. Ici
  8. Juliette To Romeo
  9. The Kiss
  10. So Near
  11. Dumb Things
    Paul Kelly
  12. Moonshine
  13. China Plate
  14. Get Happy
  15. A Girl And A Dog