The Gentle War (Misinterprotato now Trichotomy)2 - CoverNewer_TheGentleWar

“The Gentle War” is the latest innovative release by contemporary jazz trio Misinterprotato. 

Building on concepts presented in their last album Variations, “The Gentle War” is a work of finely focused material. Modern and increasingly daring, it features the trio’s distinctive sounds of dense rhythmic interactions mixed with gentle melodic statements. Piano, bass and drums interact in fluid ways, evoking an intricate dialogue between the instruments.

Recording took place in the serene surrounds of Tallebudgera QLD, and was mixed in Minneapolis, USA by revered producer/engineer Brent Sigmeth. The resultant album is a bold step forward for the group cementing their place as an ensemble with an inventive and ground breaking approach to music making.

Simultaneously thunderous and hushed, “The Gentle War” is remarkably compelling. It is contemporary trio music at it’s finest, jazz influenced while creating a new sound free of comparisons and consistently surprising in its creativity.

Misinterprotato:  Sean Foran, piano; John Parker, drums; Pat Machisella, acoustic bass

Australian Jazz Bell Award Nominee 2011 for Best Contemporary Jazz Album



The original compositions provide scope for the odd big punch, which also offers pools of tranquil relief. The result is the band’s most vibrant album in its history.”  John Shand, SMH Music Metro, Sept 2010
…energetic, full of movement and rhythmically inventive, a far cry from the staid version of jazz that befouls the genre’s reputation.”  AS, Inpress, Aug 2010
…The result is a pulsating yet not overpowering style which samples influences from Stravinsky to Radiohead, driven by Foran’s precise piano.”  David Cusworth, West Australian, Aug 2010
These guys are powerful musicians, who lay some mighty depth charges. So many surprises and exquisite moments. 4-stars"  Leon Gettler, Green Guide, The Age, Nov 2010

Also featured on PBS 106.7 FM’s “Easy Street Sessions Best of 2010” compilation CD


For more information about Misinterprotato/Trichotomy releases, click here to go to the artist page

Track Listing Show

  1. Chase
  2. The Gentle War
  3. Cute
  4. Sync
  5. Blues For The Space
  6. Wrestle
  7. Shut Up
  8. Interlude
  9. Tailgater
  10. Not According To Plan
  11. Time