Monash Sessions: George Garzone

1 - Unnamed

Monash University's Sir Zelman Cowan School Of Music and Jazzhead are proud to announce the new recording by notable NYC sax-man George Garzone with The Monash Sessions.

Strong ties have been forged with Garzone through his numerous tours and workshops with Monash music students and in 2011 Monash University and Garzone established a residency and mentorship for the University’s jazz ensembles. 

Rehearsing Garzone’s compositions and big band arrangements by Garzone’s long time Berklee College of Music faculty colleague and Buddy Rich alumni Greg Hopkins offered invaluable insights into the creative processes of one of the great voices of modern jazz. This evolved and became The Sessions, culminating in a performance at Bennetts Lane Jazz Club and the recording at Melbourne’s Sing Sing studios.

Alongside George Garzone, the recording also features compositions by Horace Silver, Johnny Green and Greg Hopkins.

This recording illustrates Garzone is at the forefront of improvised music, a true ambassador of the spirit of jazz. With a wealth of experience and one who takes tradition and pushes its boundaries, Garzone creates new and exciting stories. A Jazz giant indeed.

George Garzone: The Monash Sessions. OUT NOW.



"... hits us between the ears with a big sumptuous tenor sound  ... the band sounds tight and well rehearsed" Greg Cody - The Music Trust 2014

Monash University Big Band

Track 1.

I’m Getting Sentimental Over You – Composed by George Bassman, arranged by Greg Hopkins

Featuring: George Garzone - tenor sax, James MacAulay – trombone


Track 2.

Body and Soul - Composed by Johnny Green, arranged by Greg Hopkins

Featuring: George Garzone - tenor saxophone


Track 3.

Okalvongo – Composed and arranged by Greg Hopkins

Featuring: George Garzone - tenor saxophone and Grant Higgins – guitar


Track 4.

Nutville – Composed by Horace Silver, arranged by Greg Hopkins

Featuring: George Garzone - tenor saxophone, Travis Woods - trumpet
Alto saxes - Josh Davey, Josh Kelly
Tenor saxes - Robbie James, Reuben Legge
Baritone sax - Liam Werrett
Trumpets - Daniel Beasy (Lead), Travis Woods, Brae Grimes, Alex Howroyd, Ben Dalton, Shona Taylor
Trombones - Daniel McIlvride, James MacAulay, Simon Carter, Steele  Foster
Piano - Thomas Prowse, Peter Corrigan
Bass - Harrison Wardley
Guitar - Grant Higgins, Sam McAuliffe
Drums - Joseph Batrouney


Ensemble #1


Track 5.

Tutti Italiani – George Garzone



Track 6.

There’s Snow Place Like Home – George Garzone


Track 7.

In the Nick of Prime - Robert Burke

George Garzone - tenor sax
Robert Burke - tenor sax
James Macaulay - Trombone
Tom Biffen - guitar
Harrison Wardley - Double Bass
Chloe Dempsey - drums


Ensemble #2 

Track 8.

The Mingus That I Knew – George Garzone


Track 9.

Hey, Open Up – George Garzone

George Garzone - tenor
Brae Grimes - Trumpet
David Dower - piano
Daniel Spiers- Double Bass
Joseph Batrouney - drums


Small World Music Ensemble

Track 10.

Fui Pedra - Renaud Garcia-Fons 


Track 11.

The Wish - John McLaughlin 

George Garzone - tenor
Sven Svalbe - Soprano Sax
Daniel Berry - Drums
Matt Hayes - Bass
Dan Mamrot - Guitar
Tully Ingamells - Piano 


Track 12.

I Remember You - Victor Schertzinger

Chloe Dempsey - drums
George Garzone - tenor sax


Director - Jordan Murray
Engineer: Doug Brady
Produced - Jordan Murray, Robert Burke and Paul Williamson


For more info about The Monash University Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music please click here...

Track Listing Show

  1. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
    Composer George Bassman Arr. Greg Hopkins
  2. Body & Soul
    Composer Johnny Green Arr. Greg Hopkins
  3. Okalvongo
    Composer and Arr. Greg Hopkins
  4. Nutville
    Composer Horace Silver Arr. Greg Hopkins
  5. Tutti Italiani
    Composer George Garzone
  6. There's Snow Place Like Home
    Composer George Garzone
  7. In The Nick Of Prime
    Composer Robert Burke
  8. The Mingus That I Knew
    Composer George Garzone
  9. Hey, Open Up
    Composer George Garzone
  10. Fui Pedra
    Composer Renaud Garcia-Fons
  11. The Wish
    Composer John McLaughlin
  12. I Remember You
    Composer Victor Schertzinger